Monday, June 27, 2011

Dhanush received for Rajini

The 5th Annual Vijay Awards witnessed coming together of the most eminent personalities of Tamil film industry. What surprised the most were the unexpected arrivals like Sun Pictures Hans raj Saxena and many more celebrities, who took a break from shooting and made their way to Nehru Indoor Stadium. Vijay Awards have come a long way since the first ceremony that took off grandiosely before 5 years. The highlight of this event was the jury members recognizing the need to honor special achievements that don’t usually fit into the fixed categories like ‘Best find of the Year 2010’. Winners of National awards were also honored during this occasion.

‘I am really thankful to the people, who have accepted me as an actor and I also feel it’s the greatest honor than any other awards’ said Dhanush. Filmmaker Vetri Maaran, editor Kishore, actor Jayabalan, poet Vairamuthu, Saranya Ponvannan, Thambi Ramaiah and choreographer Dinesh were felicitated.

Vikram won the ‘Best Actor Award’ for his splendid performance in Raavanan while Anjali walked up to dais to get the ‘Best Actress Award’ for Angaadi Theru. Double cheers for Superstar Rajnikanth fans as he won a couple of awards – Best Villain and Favorite Hero for Endhiran. Dhanush received the award on behalf of his father-in-law and read out a note from the Superstar thanking everyone for their prayers and love.

Angaadi Theru brought in two more honors: Best Director (Vasantha Balan) and Best Film. Prabhu Solomon was rewarded for his brilliant story and screenplay for Mynaa. National award winners Thambi Ramaiah and Saranya Ponvannan won ‘Best Supporting Male and Female Actor awards’ (Mynaa and Thenmerku Paruva Kaatru).

Santhanam emblazoned the entire auditorium with fun making witty comments on Udhayanidhi Stalin, director Rajesh, VTV Ganesh and compeer Shiva Karthikeyan of Vijay TV fame for nearly15 minutes. ‘KJ Yesudas is the only competitor for our Ganesh’ humorously added Santhanam, who requested Ganesh to bless him with a song.

It was a musical triumph for Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya as A.R. Rahman won ‘Best Music Director’, Vijay Prakash – (Best Playback Singer Male) for ‘Hosanna’ and Shreya Ghosal (Best Playback Singer Female) for ‘Mannipaaya’.

‘Best Find of the Year 2011’ was awarded to Remo D’ Souza (Choreography) and Madhan Karky (Lyrics). Raghava Lawrence was considered for a special category ‘Social Responsibility Award’ for his generous contribution towards the wellbeing of poor and underprivileged section of society. Veteran Filmmaker K. Balachandar was awarded the most prestigious ‘Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award’ and Choreographer Sundaram master was felicitated with ‘Contribution to Tamil Cinema’ award. His protégés Shoby, Dinesh and others paid tribute to their master shaking their legs for some of his evergreen chartbusters with same choreography.

Vairamuthu was honored with ‘Best Lyricist Award’ for Thenmerku Paruvakaatru. While receiving the awards, he didn’t miss to speak about the bleak scenario of present trend of songs. ‘Earlier, songs were meant to relish the essence of lyrics, but today it is used more for dance and beats.’

Best Choreographer award was given to Dinesh for ‘Jilla Vittu’ song in Eesan and he entertained the spectators performing few steps for the song. Suriya was given ‘Best Entertainer of the year Award’ for his commercial hit movie Singam. Best crew of the Year 2010 was given to Mynaa Team while Viddarth and Amala Paul won ‘Best New Face Male and Female Awards’ for the same film.

A.R. Murugadoss called upon versatile cinematographer Santhosh Sivan to announce the winner of ‘Best Cinematography 2010 award’ that was given to Rathinavel for Enthiran. Selva Kumar (Best Art Director Award for Madharasapattinam), Anal Arasu (Best Stunt Director for Naan Mahaan Alla), Kasi Viswanathan (Best Editing for Naan Mahaan Alla) were the other winners.

Trisha won ‘Favorite Heroine Award’ for Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya while Favorite Film of the Year was given to Endhiran (Sun Pictures) and Shankar was chosen for Favorite Director Award (Endhiran).

Mumbai based dance group ‘Mumbai Experts’ gave an electrifying performance for the remix versions of ‘Sheila Ki Jawani’, ‘Boom Boom Robot’, ‘Irumbile Oru Idhayam’, ‘Nangai’ and few more tracks. Shriya Charan, Bharath and Amala Paul sizzled with their rocking dance performance for some of the chartbusters of 2010.

Famous anchors Gopinath and Shiva Karthikeyan entertained the spectators with their humorous compeering.

No comments:

koffee with anu super singer jodi no 1 anu alavum bayam illai celebrating kamal's 50 vijay tv vanga pesalam kallikaattu pallkoodam maharani vijay awards vpl en peyar meenakshi yuvan vijay tv anchors kings of comedy